The Brijuni Archipelago

The Brijuni archipelago is made up of fourteen islands (and several cliffs), situated north-west from Pula: Veliki Brijun, Mali Brijun, Sv. Marko,Gaz, Okrugljak, Supin, Supinić, Galija, Grunj, Vanga, Madona, Vrsar, Jerilim, and Kozada. The total surface of the archipelago is 736 hectares, while the coastline measures 46,6 kilometres. Veliki Brijun is the largest and the most important islands, with the majority of monumental heritage and contemporary facilities.

Brijuni are characterized by a mild Mediterranean climate with 2387 sunny hours a year, which was the reason why they have been used as a holiday resort since ancient days.

The average air temperature in the winter is 6,3°C, in the spring 12,2°C, in the summer 22,2°C and in the autumn 14,8°C. The sea temperature in the summer is between 22 and 25°C.

Winds on the Brijuni archipelago are moderate, its snows very rarely, and the rainfalls are also moderate and they amount to about 812 millimetres a year.

Climatic advantages made it possible for more than 680 species of vegetation and 250 species of birds to inhabit the archipelago.